Flag of Nepal TNC : Travel-NEPAL.com





Nepal has eight of the 14 highest mountains in the world, situated along the Himalayan range, that runs from the eastern to western edge of the country. The world's highest peak, Mt. Everest stands high above the range in north eastern region of the country, on the Sino-Nepalese border, side by side with other gorgeous mountains.

Thousands of trekkers come to Nepal each year to visit the foot hills of the Himalayas, along with hundreds of adventure seekers, who take up to challenge nature by making their attempt on the high mountains. Known as a paradise for mountaineers, for whom Nepal has become a place of pilgrimage and setting their foot on the Nepalese mountains a life time dream.

Nepal has earned its reputation for being the only country in the world with so many mountains of all sizes and shapes, that meets the need and ability of all range of climbers.

For the Nepalese anything under 5,000 meters is considered hills, says the legendary Sherpas who live in high altitude areas during summer month and descent to lower grounds during winter season, when mother nature splashes the area with snow

Ever since the country was first opened to climbers in 1949, Nepal Himalayas has become a great theater of mountaineering activity and drama of success and failure have provided impetus to more men and women to meet the ultimate mountains of Nepal.

The mountaineering season in Nepal is divided into four seasons, Spring, Summer, Autumn and Winter. The most popular among them is the spring season, when the harsh weather of winter leaves the mountain after dumping fresh snow and before the monsoon starts. The second best season would be the Autumn season.

Related Topics:
Trekking in Nepal
Types of Treks and Routes

Helping to keep the environment clean:
Since Himalaya is one of the rarest and most beautiful assets of the world that should be preserved for generations to come, the Nepalese government has appealed to all the mountaineers and visitors to the areas to

  • Respect and protect its beauty and purity
  • Know the values of mountains to keep the areas clean and unpolluted
  • Make enough provision of fuel to ensure that fire wood is not used
  • Destroy any flora or fauna
  • Clean after themselves by not leaving anything in their trails
  • Garbage should be brought back with them to lower grounds and taken care of
  • Avoid leaving discarded materials on higher camps in the mountain
  • Refrain from dumping garbage into the glaciers and crevasses
  • Help by cleaning up the garbage left by previous teams

List of Himalayan Peaks opened for mountaineering expeditions:
(With permission from the Nepalese Tourism Ministry)
Mount Everest, the highest mountain in the world is given in
Mountains over 8000 meters are given in

Ama Dablam 6,812 m.  Annapurna I 8,091 m.  Annapurna II 7,937 m.  Annapurna III 7,556 m.  Annapurna IV 7,535 m. 
Annapurna South 7,219 m.  Api 7,132 m.  Barun Tse 7,129 m.  Baudha 6,672 m. Chamlang 7,219 m. 
Cheo Himal 6,820 m. Chobuje 6,685 m.  Cholatse 6,440 m.  Cho Oyu 8,201 m.  Cho Polu 6,711 m
Churen 7,371 m.  Dhampes 6,012 m. Dhaulagiri I 8,167 m.  Dhaulagiri II 7,751 m. Dhaulagiri III 7,715 m
Dhaulagiri IV 7,661 m.  Dhaulagiri V 7,618 m.  Dhaulagiri VI 7,268 m.  EVEREST 8,848 m.  Fang 7,647 m. 
Ganesh II 7,111 m.  Ganesh III 7,110 m.  Ganesh IV 7,052 m.  Ganesh V 6,986 m. Gangapurna 7,455 m. 
Glacier Dome 7,193 m.  Gauri shanker 7,134 m.  Hanging Glacier 6,563 m.  Himalchuli (E) 7,893 m.  Himalchuli (N) 7,371 m.
Himalchuli (W) 7,540 m.  Himlung Himal 7,126 m.  Hongde 6,556 m.  Jagdula Peak 5,764 m. Kumbakarna 7,710 m. 
Shey Shikhar 6,139 m.  Kangbachen 7,903 m.  Kagmaral 5,960 m.  Kande Hiuchuli 6,627 m.  Kanchenjunga 8,586 m. 
Kanchenjunga (S) 8,476 m.  Kanchenjunga 8,476 m.  Kang guru 6,981 m.  Kangtega 6,779 m. Kanjeralwa 6,612 m. 
Kanjiroba 6,883 m.  Khatang 6,782 m.  Lamjung Himal 6,983 m.  Langsisa Ri 6,427 m.  Langtang Lirung 7,234 m. 
Lhotse 8,516 m.  Lhotse Shar 8,400 m.  Lobuje West 6,145 m.  Makalu I 8,463 m.  Makalu II 7,678 m. 
Manapathi 6,380 m Manaslu 8,163 m.  Manaslu (N) 7,157 m.  Nampa 6,755 m.  Ngogumbakang 7,743 m.
Nilgiri Central 6,940 m.  Nilgiri (S) 7,061 m.  Nilgiri (S) 6,839 m.  Number 6,957 m. Nuptse 7,855 m. 
Patrasi 6,450 m.  Ngadi Chuli 7,871 m.  Pumori 7,161 m.  Putha Hiuchuli 7,246 m.  Saipal 7,031 m. 
Shantishikar 7,591 m.  Shartse 7,459 m.  Sisne 5,849 m.  Sita Chuchura 6,611 m Tawoche 6,501 m. 
Thamserku 6,623 m.  Tilicho Peak 7,134 m. Tukuche Peak 6,920 m Yalung Kang 8,505 m.  Api (W) 7,100 m. 
Fimkof 6,697 m.  Fimkof (W) 6,645 m.  Nampa (S) 6,580 m.  Raksha Urai 6,593 m.  Saipal (E) 6,882 m. 
Surma Sarovar 6,523 m.  Tso Karpo 6,518 m.  Drangnag Ri 6,801 m.  Givigela Chuli 7,350 m. Pathivara Chuli 7,123 m. 
Lemgpo Peak 6,954 m. Gyajikang 7,038 m. Pasang Lhamu 7,351 m.    

  List of Himalayan Peaks opened for trekking expeditions:
(With permission from the Nepal Mountaineering Association)  

Island Peak 6,183 m.  Palder Peak 5,896 m.  Tent Peak 5,663 m.
Hunchuli 6,441 m.  Fluted Peak 6,501 m.  Ramdung 5,925 m. 
Parchemuche 6,187 m.  Mera Peak 6,654 m.  Khonga Tse 5,849 m. 
Kusum Kanguru 6,367 m.  Kanga Chuli 5,488 m.  Pokalde 5,806 m. 
Mardi Himal 5,587 m.  Loguje 6,119 m. Kwangde 6,011 m. 
Pisang 6,091 m.  Chulu (W) 6,419 m Chulu (E) 6,584 m. 


Related Topics:
Trekking in Nepal
Types of Treks and Routes
All content copyright 1996 - TNC, Travel-NEPAL.com
Page Updated :